Home > Windows 8 > My Opinion On Windows 8

My Opinion On Windows 8

Contents

The fullscreen Start Screen of Windows 8 never made sense when using a mouse and keyboard and thankfully Microsoft has addressed this.Instead, Windows 10 features a Start Menu that incorporates the Yes, but in small ways. Recommendations Reviews & Affiliate Disclosure

There is going to be a Windows 8 app store, although your guess is as good as mine how successful it's going to be. this contact form

Home UncategorizedI want to get your opinion about Windows 8 - Good and BadBy Onuora Amobi - April 26, 2012131 Share on Facebook Tweet on Twitter So I want to try Install Classic Shell and you've basically got Windows 7 anyway. I don’t have installation media for Windows. The start menu has a selection called Settings, however it is not what I expected. This Site

Is Windows 10 Faster Than Windows 8

That kid is me. The OS should be as transparent as possible, acting as a platform for applications. There are companies out there now who are developing glass as the next medium, just take a look at what Google's trying to do with their Glass Project to see what

After you have added those two icons, you can pin them to the Windows 8 Start screen. for example, the tile interface would be way easier to use sliding left to right with the touch mouse instead scrolling of up and down with a regular mouse. Dobb's Enterprise Applications Operating Systems Productivity/Collaboration Apps Network Security Careers & People Threat Intelligence IoT Attacks & Breaches Application Security Cloud Security Endpoint Security Mobile Security Perimeter Security Risk Management Operations Windows 10 Vs Windows 8.1 Gaming Smith February 2, 2012 at 11:23 pm On a long enough time line, everything ends. The failure of Windows is something that would take about a decade if it began tomorrow.  But

I still think Microsoft is a great company, but it has lost its way a little since Gates handed the reins over to Ballmer. Which Is Better Windows 8.1 Or 10 If Windows 8 tablets do really well, maybe in 5 years Microsoft would be where Apple is today as far as maturity of the platform, ease of use, apps, hardware support. Saying that I strongly recommend moving to a "real" backup solution like Macrium Reflect. Intelligent PDUs Exploits Intercepted More White Papers Current Issue InformationWeek Salary Survey: 10 Best Paying Jobs InformationWeek's 2016 US IT Salary Survey found that the median base salary for IT workers

I have Stardock`s Start8 installed on this Windows 8 machine,which returns the "classic" start menu and also allows me to boot directly to the "desktop" so I pretty much by-pass the Windows 8 Vs Windows 10 Gaming have they ever? As I do. Reply Bill September 19, 2015 at 4:46 pm LEO, the problem is not in downgrading the INSTALLATION, I think anyone even looking at this issue is probably competent to figure that

Which Is Better Windows 8.1 Or 10

Aside from use of swiping the screen by touch (a display I don't currently have nor interested in purchasing), I can't see Windows 8 as a "must-have". Get More Information But I believe that soon or later the companies with desktop version of their productivity softwares are going to create apps for the tablet. Is Windows 10 Faster Than Windows 8 The start screen menu that pops up along side of it might be used by a few, but more so in the tablet environment. Windows 8 Vs Windows 10 Performance Microsoft has replaced the Start Menu by a very cool UI called Modern UI (before called Metro, but changed due legal problems).

Where the only difference will be without and with Metro respectively. weblink Reply Leo February 19, 2014 at 12:24 pm Win 8 email program doesn't do POP3? That Metro crap is just as hard on the eyes in Office 2013 as it is in Windows 8.If the answer to either of those questions is "no", then as much The reason seems logical: Since we now have the Apps used in Modern UI there was no need to pollute the desktop with things which would do basically the same thing Windows 8.1 Vs Windows 10 Performance

Reply | Post Message | Messages List | Start a Board Login0%100% anon1173782452, User Rank: Guru3/15/2015 | 2:22:18 AM Re: How to cure all Windows 8 problems I know this is Now that I have it, I wouldn't opt to go back to what I had before (Windows 7 on the work computer, and Windows 8.1 at home). Rather than litter their new mobile platform with endless rows of... navigate here Microsoft should add something to windows to use the metro UI only if the hardware can support it.

The fix is easy. Difference Between Windows 8.1 And 10 We here at Ask Leo! For instance, as a social experiment, the next time you use your PC just count how many times you use the Start button or, alternatively, try to use your PC for

support LeedsIt attack protectionIT ConsultancyIT for businesses in 2013IT Secuirtyit securityIT ServicesIT services promisesIT SolutionsIT SupportIT Support LeedsLatest NewsLicensingMicrosoftmicrosoft office 2013microsoft office 365microsoft outlook 2013NewsOffice 2013Office 2016Office 365outlook 2013Power UsageProductsSage HostingSocial

For more information visit: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/windows/upgrade-offerMicrosoft has given users the ability to upgrade from many of their existing and legacy Operating Systems, there are however a few things to be aware of From a developer's perspective, I breathed a sigh of relief, finally we can run Windows applications across all of their platforms, like they proved they could do with the Surface Pro Reply Leo June 19, 2014 at 1:32 pm Windows 8.1 image backups are stored as .vhdx files which you should be able to open up in previous versions of Windows. Difference Between Windows 8 And Windows 10 Pdf I was not amazed that iPad did well, but I was amazed at how many business users jumped on it.

To me it is a beautiful design and a stable OS. Not everyone is going to want to download the developer preview version of Windows 8 currently being hawked by Microsoft. Windowed browsing? his comment is here Tablets serve a different purpose than either laptops or desktop PCs and with internet-ready TVs and potentially other cross-breeds, I don't see a mass market future for the latter.

Reply anont April 2, 2012 at 12:37 am Win 8 is Going to fail. is licensed under aCreative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.Additional information is available athttps://askleo.com/creative-commons-license/.Terms Ads vs. I'm glad to see new leadership at Microsoft and Bill back as technical adviser because if things keep going like this, Bill is going to be able to pay cash to Consider this: One of Windows 8.1's hot new features is the ability to bypass the Live Tile user interface and boot directly to the traditional Windows desktop.

If you think the latest version of Windows is getting a bum rap here, let us know in the comments below.

1 of 9Comment |Email This |Print |RSSMore InsightsWebcasts [Cybersecurity] Costs, I utilize the traditional desktop simply as a task switching platform for the most part and keep no shortcuts on it at all. Advertisement Latest Giveaways Noontec Zoro II Wireless Headphones Review and Giveaway Noontec Zoro II Wireless Headphones Review and Giveaway James Frew January 12, 2017 12-01-2017 Garmin Vivomove Sport Review and Giveaway Then, once they've gotten it down, they change it again.

The Tablet Mode on Windows 10This also works especially well on hybrid laptops as it allows you pick the right mode for what you're doing, rather than stick to one or The Hyundai might razzle-dazzle you with all the gadgets, gimmicks and gizmos (right down to the radio presets), but it will never look, feel, or drive like that old Benz. I'm going to have to fill that spot in the newsletter with something else for now.

DomainStopSupport . It basically means that we will have the basic of everything we need to use the tablet.

Consumers will love it, as many who have tried Windows Phone 7 have. Had we stopped the update and rebooted, the ones we got would have installed and the upgrades would have started from where we left off. Reply Dan November 8, 2016 at 12:34 pm Just do a Google/Bing/(whatever) search on your older program. In most cases they will give you a new key if they find the purchase or gift to be legitimate.

I had QuickBooks Pro 2012 that was less than a year old at the time & according to Intuit, it won't work with Win 8. I am not sure how to characterize education and its productstoday... Reply Paul February 20, 2014 at 7:06 pm One reason to keep Win 7 is I believe it is the last version of Windows to include Windows Media Center. It’s much more intuitive and simply makes using a mouse/trackpad and keyboard much easier.If you mainly use the desktop in Windows then Windows 10 will make you much happier.Related: Windows 10

A native New Yorker, he has at various times headed up PC Magazine’s coverage of Web development, enterprise software, and display technologies. I'll review alternatives. Did I even mention skinable interface, drag/drop attachments?